Friday, February 11, 2011

Tag-Up Rule

As we all know, kickball defers to the rules of baseball unless otherwise specifically noted.  We had an issue last night where the Shockers recorded out #3 on one of our runners who failed to "tag-up."  However, runs scored before this happened.

The Shockers said it was a "force play," and the runs should not count.  The ref ruled correctly against this logic.  The only reason I knew this rule is because it happened last season.

Official Rules of MLB

4.09 (Approved Ruling) - "One out, Jones on third, Smith on first, and Brown files out to right field.  Two outs.  Jones tags up and scores after the catch.  Smith attempted to return to first but the right fielder's throw beat him to the base.  Three outs.  But Jones scored before the throw to catch Smith reached first base, hence Jones' run counts.  It was not a force play."

In other words:

"A force play is when a runner is forced to advance because the batter became a runner. When the batter is out on a caught fly, all forces are removed. An out on an a failure to tag-up, is NOT a force out. Any runs that cross the plate before this out will count."  -Baseball Rule Myths

5 comments:

Jack said...

Speaking of that rule, FRANK, have you spent those yellabucks, yet?

Chandler said...

I totally forgot it was the Yellabuck Rule of 2010.

FRANK said...

fuck that!

Smithkey said...

Haha I was just discussing the infamous Yellabucks Rule of 2010 with Hess Thur. night. Not sure why the force out rule is so hard to understand.

YellowBird said...

Frank, I have a few more left over in my office if you've already spent those.

Of course, I can always print more of them if anyone is in need of a very low interest personal loan.